Friday, April 22, 2016Contact: Andrew Chesser
Single-Year Ratings for Top 100 G1 Races of 2015 Released

The International Federation of Horseracing Authorities has published its top 100 Group 1 and Grade 1 races based on the 2015 editions of each race. The ranked list is compiled using the annual race ratings, which is an average of the LONGINES World’s Best Racehorse Rankings ratings of the first four placed horses.

Going forward, this list of the top 100 Group/Grade 1 races for a single year will serve as the basis for both the Longines World’s Best Horse Race and Longines World’s Best Jockey awards.

The LONGINES World’s Best Jockey is an annual competition to recognize top jockeys throughout the world. The jockey who outperforms his or her peers in these races will next be honoured in December, while the 2016 LONGINES World’s Best Horse Race will be crowned at a ceremony in January 2017.

France’s Qatar Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, which was the inaugural winner of the LONGINES World’s Best Horse Race, sits in the top spot with a rating of 126.00. Last year, Europe’s Horse of the Year Golden Horn won the revered race, while Flintshire, New Bay, and Treve rounded out the top four.

The remaining top 10 rated races from 2015 are the Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (125.00), Breeders’ Cup Classic (124.75), Belmont Stakes Presented by Draftkings (123.75), QIPCO Irish Champion Stakes (123.50), Grand Prix de Saint-Cloud (123.00), Juddmonte International (122.25), Travers Stakes (122.25), LONGINES Breeders’ Cup Turf (122.00), Dubai Sheema Classic Presented by LONGINES (121.75), LONGINES Hong Kong Cup (121.75), and Tattersall Gold Cup (121.75). The last three races tied for the final spot in the top 10.

Ten countries comprise the 2015 list of top 100 races. The United States of America and Australia lead all countries with 21 total races each, followed by Great Britain (16), France (10), Hong Kong (10), Japan (10), Ireland (4), United Arab Emirates (4), South Africa (3), Germany (2).

The LONGINES World’s Best Jockey Award incorporates races from 1 December of last year until 30 November of this year. Jockeys accrue 12 points for a win, 6 points for placing second, and 4 points for placing third. The next LONGINES World’s Best Horse Race winner will be based off of the equivalent list for 2016.

Footnote: The figures listed above reflect the final review of racing for 2015.

About the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA)

The International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA) is the world peak body for the international sport of Thoroughbred racing. Its members are the national racing authorities across the globe which stage Thoroughbred races.

Major areas of the IFHA’s activities include:

• Making and amending the International Agreement on Breeding, Racing and Wagering (the IABRW)
• Policy development relating to welfare and safety of horses and riders
• International Race Planning and Grading (“black type”)
• World Rankings
• Equine Prohibited Substances and Practices
• Harmonization of Race Day Rules
• Fostering commercial development of the racing industry globally

The IFHA is a foundation member with Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) of the International Horse Sports Confederation and is affiliated to the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE).
For further details, please contact:
Andrew Chesser
Secretary General, International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA)
Telephone +1 859 224 2741
E-Mail :